Historic St. Maries
This charming museum is located on the east end of Main Avenue in downtown St. Maries. It is full of interesting photos, antiques, and artifacts depicting early St. Maries and Northern Idaho.
The staff of volunteers are dedicated to this historical home and business place. Please stop in and enjoy the nostalgic environment while learning about the history of this area. A nice selection of souvenirs are available here as well.
HUGHES HOME MUSEUM
The Hughes log house was built in 1902 on the corner of Sixth Street and Main Avenue. It started out as a men's club and then in 1906, G.S. "Doc" Thompson bought the house and used part of it as his office and treatment center.
In the 1920's Thompson lost his building to the Lumberman's State Bank of Kootenai County and this charming log house began to suffer deterioration as a rental. In 1926 Raleigh Hughes purchased the home and began years of loving restoration and improvements. The house was elevated about three feet and a full basement was put in. The old floors were replaced with hardwood flooring. The bathroom was modernized, walls re-plastered, decorative woodwork put on the ceiling and a front porch added.
In 1989 the Centennial Committee purchased the home from the Hughes family as a project. To pay for the home, they sold brick, t-shirts, ornaments, took cash donations, donated labor and materials. It opened as the Hughes House Historical Museum on June 18, 1990.
The Hughes House Historical Society Phone: (208) 245 - 3212
538 Main Avenue
St. Maries, ID 83861